What Running Has Taught Me.

I wasn’t always a runner.  I began running distances once my lacrosse career ended due to my eating disorder, and I was able to add exercise back into my life (healthily). So with that timeline it was about the my freshman year of college that I began investing myself to running.

I remember that first run that I took after I decided I wanted to get back into something. I won’t lie, it was hard. I hated that I couldn’t run as well as I used to.  That feeling of immense frustration had me wanting to quit.  I went back into it expecting to be at the same level of fitness I had been, but that was an unrealistic expectation.

Now as I said, I wanted to quit.  I got down on myself, letting negativity get to me… but where would that lead me? nowhere.  Growing up Coaches and my parents always instilled the mottos of “never quit” & “no pain, no gain” to all areas of my life… mostly sports though.  I knew I had to get back into that mindset with beginning to run again.  I couldn’t quit.  I wasn’t a quitter and never had been.  I also began to realize that not only would this  be physically painful at points, but emotionally painful too… but both of those things are able to be overcome with time.  So what did I do? I kept running… everyday.  It became the best part of most of my days.  I looked forwards to getting outside, pushing myself to the limit and seeing how much I could do.

I’ve truly fell in love with running again.

With my experience in running, it has taught me a lot…

I’ve learned that not everything will ever go exactly as planned.     

Situations arise in life that might throw you for a loop and force you to accommodate.  But you know what… sometimes its fun when things don’t go as planned.  It forces you to step outside of your comfort zone just a little to try new things and go with the flow.

                                  Sometimes you just have to look at the positives.                                                 

Not everything is always going to be buckets of sunshine and rainbows, but its all in how you look at it.  You can take any situation and put a positive spin on it if you really try! think of it like everyday might not be a good day, but there is good in everyday

                                 Your body and mind can do amazing things.                                                                                            

I never really acknowledged all that my mind and body can do individually and working together. The human body and mind are incredible when you begin to think about it…  Everyday whether it is something small or big, we are pushing the boundaries of our bodies and minds, learning and adapting.

What have you learned from running?

 

Leave a Reply

